mystical progress

10262010_10154702582935231_4144234738656110233_n

Image: William Blake (1757‑1827), “The Ascent of the Mountain of Purgatory.” From Illustrations to “Dante’s Divine Comedy, 1824-1827,” Graphite, ink and watercolour on paper

in summer of 2014, shortly after going severe with ME, i lamented not being able to do acupuncture anymore.  shortly thereafter, there was a knock on my door.  & there was my neighbor with a masseuse.  i explained that i was far too ill to have body work done.  but the woman explained she could work with energy.

she immediately felt Holy to me.  so this very sick buddhist welcomed this christian mystic into her bedroom.

it would take a lot of writing to tell about what happened in those many months of once a week sessions.  she would have visions.  that were.. true..  the energy that came off of her or through her – is beyond my means of describing.  she rarely touched me.  but even if she held her hands high above my torso, i could feel the heat..  & if she touched my feet.. there would be this.. filling up of light, love, life.  it was transcendent.

that 1st session, i was transcended for hours – maybe the entire day.  i didn’t want to break even to eat.  my symptoms were gone … & i was.. somewhere outside of this realm.

she sensed with me someone who was a peer.  she admitted on the 1st day that she had never worked with anyone like me before.  that i would be taking her to the limits of her abilities. that so much was coming off of me, it was hard for her to read…

this is the part where i should mention that while i have always been a bit skeptical about mystical things, as i got sicker in my 40s, i started to have premonitions & prophetic dreams.  that i first dismissed, but that started happening with such frequency & accuracy, that i could only bow to whatever was happening as real.  & outside the scope of my understanding.  i was somehow just a conduit.

our work ended in january.  not of my choosing & in a way that was very difficult for me.  to this day i don’t really understand what happened.  i do know i was lucky to have had her walk with me in this way for so many months.  it gave me the courage to end my marriage & it put me in touch with a spiritual realm in a way that i have never experienced before.    i think she was meant to learn something from me… as well as what i had experienced with her.  but she may have simply walked me as far as she was able.  & when i was unable to follow her into her religious paradigm, she retreated.  unfortunately it came at a time during serious relapse of ME & at the time of my greatest aloneness.

today in fb memories was this:
“Ah, so during this morning’s session mysticism was discussed & embodied. & thus appears this post. To match my swallows in a storm.”

Parabola Magazine
October 25, 2014 at 8:52pm ·
“It is a grave misconception to regard the mystical progress as passing mostly through ecstasies and raptures. On the contrary, it passes just as much through broken hearts and bruised emotions, through painful sacrifices and melancholy renunciations.”

—Paul Brunton (1898-1981) a widely influential British philosopher, mystic, and author. Among his many books are “The Sacred Path,” “An Inner Reality,” and “Wisdom of the Overself.” This quotation is taken from “The Notebooks of Paul Brunton.”
10393806_10152348455156426_8127164727405724997_n

photo by keith williams

Leave a Reply

